My Hearts Pleasure

Retro Rubber Challenge #42

6 Comments


Good morning! I wanted to share some exciting news with you. Today is my first challenge with the Retro Rubber Challenge Blog as a design team member. I am super excited to be with this team of extremely talented ladies. This challenge is to use brads or eyelets

Retro Rubber Challenge #42

I decided to go with the brads and this is what I created

The Open Sea

I started with a Pacific Point card base and then a layer of Whisper White that I stamped the SU Hardwood background stamp on. The next layer is another piece of Pacific Point and then a layer of Whisper White that I sponged the edges with Pacific Point ink. On this layer I put 6 pieces that were cut to look like planks of wood by stamping the Hardwood stamp on a separate piece of paper and then cutting individually. I attached these pieces using brads.  Next I stamped the ship from the SU set The Open Sea (2011) in Pacific Point on a white circle piece. I then stamped the hardwood stamp in vintage photo on a scrap piece of white and using two circle dies cut out a ring.  I did this again with pacific point and then cut partial pieces to attach to the hardwood ring and wrapped jute on the four points where the blue pieces ended.  To finish I stamped the sentiment from the SU set Greatest Greetings and cut the words out individually and backed them on Pacific Point and attached to my card front.

Thank you so much for stopping by today and I hope you enjoyed my card.  Please stop by The Retro Rubber Challenge Blog and check out all the awesome cards created by the whole design team and if your inspired you can play along with us!

Until next time

Happy Crafting 🙂

Author: Ginger

Hi there! I am a resident of Winchester, Virginia. I was raised in West Virginia and lived there until about 26 years ago when I moved to Virginia. I am a country girl through and through. My passionate hobbies are scrapbooking, making cards, mini albums (ok anything paper crafting hehe), hiking, camping, fishing, gardening and cooking. I have one grown son, 25, and my boyfriend and I are raising his 13 year old son. I work full time for a dairy company. I became a Stampin Up Demonstrator in 2013 to help feed my papercrafting addiction and have loved every minute of it so far!

6 thoughts on “Retro Rubber Challenge #42

  1. Hello Ginger: Your first card as a new team member is gorgeous, I love the nautical theme, the colors and all the awesome details you poured into it. The “Open Sea” is one of the sets I treasure, I hope they never retire it, I love all of the images, which are just perfect to make masculine cards.
    Welcome aboard.
    Hugs,
    Maria Rodriguez.
    PS. Your little girl picture is adorable!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Maria! I agree with you about the stamp set but unfortunately they did retire it this year. I was heartbroken when I seen all the nautical sets they retired. Thank you for the warm welcome! I’m so happy and excited to be part of this amazing design team 🙂

      Like

  2. Hi, Pal! I am so happy that you are on the Retro Rubber design team with me! FUN!! Of course, you start off with a stamp set that I loved so much that I bought it twice! LOL (yes, I kept both of them!) I love anything nautical and your card is wonderful! The brads add such a wonderful masculine touch. I look forward to seeing your retro cards!!

    Like

  3. Welcome to the Retro Rubber team, Ginger! Your first card with us is totally awesome! Love the nautical details that you added to this card starting with the colors, texture and design. The jute is my favorite detail. I am looking forward to seeing more of your Retro Rubber designs!!

    Like

  4. Hey Ginger, welcome to the Retro Rubber team, you have totally nailed it with your first card, love the nautical theme – clever use of the brads. Cx

    Like

  5. Pingback: 22 Creative & Cool Stampin' Up! Card Ideas! | Stampin' Pretty

Leave a Reply

